Find out more about careers in industry with Career Mentoring

Posted on

Career Mentoring offers career support through pairing students with mentors working in industry. Mentoring gives you the opportunity to hear first-hand about career options outside academia.

Meet Joy, one of our mentors

Joy has a PhD in physiology from Newcastle University and recently retired from Procter & Gamble after a 28 year career. She told us why she decided to move to industry after completing her PhD:

‘After my PhD I chose to move off the academic career path and begin a career in industry, driven by my desire to work as part of a team, to work in a fast moving environment where I would see fast results and impacts, and to have access to a variety of different types of work.

I made the career move and it worked out happily. A career at Procter & Gamble gave me opportunities to achieve both my personal and career goals. Starting off in Pharmaceutical Marketing, I moved into other areas of work and for the later years of my career I managed employee related IT projects across Western Europe. The skills I mastered during my PhD have been relevant throughout.’

Joy has already worked with two research students through the mentoring programme, and hopes to support other students through Career Mentoring:

‘I have frequently benefited from the guidance and support of my work colleagues. I have also enjoyed supporting a number of graduates, interns and colleagues both professionally and with personal matters such as managing dual careers, combining work with family life, and work life balance.

Now that I am retired, I would like to continue to share my experiences and enjoy helping others find solutions to life and career challenges.’

Want to find out more?

Interested in working with a mentor to help support your career? Visit our website to find out more details and fill in our registration form, or contact career.mentoring@ncl.ac.uk.

